East Hanney Parish Council

Serving the people of East Hanney

Clerk: Guy Langton
12 Brookside, East Hanney
Wantage, Oxfordshire OX12 OJL

Tel: 01235 867403

  • The Black Horse, East Hanney

    The Black Horse, East Hanney

    The Black Horse Public House, Main Street, East Hanney.

  • St James the Less (former)

    St James the Less (former)

    The deconsecrated St James the Less, Main Street. East Hanney.

  • Dandridge Mill

    Dandridge Mill

    A former silk mill now private dwellings in East Hanney.

  • The old 'Vintage' pub

    The old 'Vintage' pub

    Thanks to Don McDouall

East Hanney Parish Council provides your local services. We strive to make East Hanney a better place to live, to work and visit. Our website includes a wealth of information about how we conduct business and what we do. Use the search or browse the site to find whatever you are looking for. If you can't find the information you require then please contact us.

Latest News

The Crisp Packet Recycling Scheme

The Crisp Packet Recycling Scheme

Posted: Thu, 21 Feb 2019 20:04 by Guy Langton

South Oxfordshire and Vale of White Horse district councils have installed a number of collection boxes in council buildings as part of a new national campaign to recycle crisp packets.

People can drop off empty crisp packets at collection boxes all over the country and they will be taken away to be recycled. Now there are more places available in southern Oxfordshire after boxes were installed in the reception areas of the councils' office building at Milton Park, at Cornerstone arts centre in Didcot, and at The Beacon in Wantage. More »

Here's what can be recycled:

  • Yes please - all crisp packets (empty and not folded up)
  • No thanks - popcorn bags, crisp tubes, pretzel bags, meat snack bags.

Crisp packets often contain what the industry calls metallised plastic film – a product that contains both plastic and metal.

This material is not widely recycled and so they are not part of council kerbside recycling collection services.

Crisp manufacturers Walkers recently set up a national recycling collection scheme, where organisations and individuals can arrange to have collection boxes for all brands of crisp packets. They are sent off in bulk to a recycling company and transformed into new plastic items, such as garden furniture.

Cllr Elaine Ware, cabinet member for housing and environment at the Vale of White Horse District Council said: "It is our aim to recycle as much material as possible and to reduce the amount of waste going into the grey bins, which is why the councils are getting involved."

Cllr Caroline Newton, cabinet member for housing and environment at South Oxfordshire District Council added: "The councils are continually looking at ways to increase our recycling through education and promotions such as this and we hope everyone will support it as much as they can."

For more information and other collection points see the recycling scheme website.

CommunicationsSouth Oxfordshire and Vale of White Horse District Councils01235 422400 » Less

An update from Oxfordshire County Council

Posted: Sun, 10 Feb 2019 12:36 by Guy Langton

You Said, We Did - A Review of Oxfordshire County Council's Town & Parish Liaison Events

Thank you very much to those of you that gave up your time to come along to one of our series of town and parish liaison events around the county. We held the final event of the series in January, and I'm now attaching a short piece about what happened, and some actions that came out of it.

We realise of course that our events were a very first step, but we certainly found them really valuable; we hope that those who attended did too. From the feedback in the piece attached, clearly some of you did. More »

I'm also taking this opportunity to send you information attached about a vacancy on the Health Oversight Scrutiny Committee (HOSC) for a co-opted member, which may be a perfect fit for someone you know, with a background / interest in health in Oxfordshire. This is a voluntary position and all information is attached; please do spread the word.

We will be in touch in future about where we go from here in terms of liaison / events with yourselves, but for now thanks again to those that were able to come and meet us, and we hope to see more of you in future.

Diane Cameron, Policy Officer (Oxfordshire County Council)

Waste and recycling collections update – Vale of White Horse - 1 February 2019

Posted: Fri, 01 Feb 2019 15:47 by Guy Langton

The overnight snow has caused unsafe driving conditions for our waste trucks. As a result, we have cancelled our waste collections today - this is for the safety of other road users, pedestrians and our waste crews.
Anyone who was due to have their bins emptied today should leave them out - we will begin catching up on Monday, weather permitting.

This may have a knock-on effect on Monday's scheduled collections - if bins aren't emptied next week, people should leave them out for three days from their scheduled collection day. We'll keep you up to date on our website at www.whitehorsedc.gov.uk/weather More »


South Oxfordshire and Vale of White Horse District Councils01235 422400www.southoxon.gov.uk | @southoxonwww.whitehorsedc.gov.uk | @whitehorsedc » Less